Bacon/Scrambled Egg/Pancake Cupcakes!

Oh wow, it’s been a bit longer than intended since our last post. Sorry about that. We’ve had many food adventures, budgeting learning experiences and lots of mind-blowing baby developments. I’ll try to fill those in the best I can, but first…

A few days ago, this photo started circulating on Facebook:

A good friend of mine had a birthday coming up this weekend and I couldn’t get this idea out of my head… bacon + eggs + muffin tins… how hard could it be? I had to give it a try for her party this morning (which, incidentally, turned into a mid-afternoon brunch, so it was apropos). Short of actually finding a recipe for the above photo, I faked it. Here, I’ll tell you what I did… then what I’ll do differently next time.

First, I greased the giant muffin pan and poured pancake batter into the bottom of each cup. Then I lined the sides of each cup with a strip of bacon.

Then it went into the oven, for the first time, at 375 degrees (per Krusteaz instructions). In the meantime, I was cooking the rest of my pancakes and Gabe scrambled up 6 eggs.

When it seemed like the pancake batter in the muffin tin was adequately cooked and the bacon was starting to crisp up, we ladled the scrambled egg into the bacon cups. This was a challenge because as bacon cooks, it gets wavy and wanted to cave in, so I did my best to hold open the bacon cups (while not burning the heck out of my fingers) and Gabe ladled in the egg. Then we put the whole mess back into the oven. I have no idea how long it took, but I checked on it every 10 minutes or so.

When a toothpick inserted into a couple of the “cupcakes” came out clean, I pulled the tin out of the oven. Some of them were prettier than others, but all were delicious.

Of course the birthday girl got the prettiest of the cupcakes. She loved it, so total win.

The lovely Laroo blowing out the candle. This project is not limited to friends you've known for half your life.

Now, what I’ll do differently next time is pour in the pancake batter and throw it into the oven (at 375 degrees) and bake one side, and while that’s cooking, half-cook the bacon. Then, flip the half-cooked pancakes and add the pre-cooked bacon (which starts getting wavy and then has a decent amount of grease cooked out of it) to the sides, and pour in the scrambled eggs (mixed with onions, chopped spinach and maybe potatoes?) and put back into the oven until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

This is not health food. No way. But good lawd is it tasty (seriously, the bacon essence seeped into the pancake bottom!) and relatively easy (not quick) to make. If you have any other flavor or prep suggestions, I’ll gladly take them. I foresee trying this again at some point not far down the road.

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking, In the Oven and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

