Stir Fry!

Stir fry!

The family was hungry as soon as they picked me up from the bus stop last night, so I wanted to get some dinner going that would come together somewhat quickly.

I was inspired all day by one of our blog followers, Rantings of an Amateur Chef, and a simple, quick Sesame Ginger Noodles recipe that was posted yesterday.

What I made had very little resemblance to that recipe, but hey, I thought they deserved credit for reminding me that I own a wok!

Ingredients:

  • Firm tofu
  • Soy Vay teriyaki marinade
  • Pasta (I used spaghetti because it’s what I had. Any Chinese noodle would have been good — and appropriate — too.)
  • 2 Shredded carrots (cheese graters DO have other jobs!)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (more would have been good)
  • 7 pearl onions (regular onion would have done fine, but I didn’t want this little ones going bad)
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • Handful of fresh spinach, rinsed and drained

Tofu, after marinating in Soy Veh.

What I Should Have Done (Notice I didn’t say “Directions”? Yeah, I should have done things differently):

  • Cut up tofu and marinate it in the Soy Vay (Fun fact: Soy Vay’s creator is an alumnus of Humboldt State University! I ❤ my job.)
  • Boil the noodles.
  • Cut up/grate the veggies.
  • Heat up some oil (I used vegetable oil) in your wok/deep pan.
  • With your burner on medium, throw in the marinated tofu after draining off most of the excess marinade. Brown the tofu.
  • Toss in the veggies.
  • Add the pasta last. (It’s already cooked! I did this too early in the process and it didn’t give the other veggies a lot of room to move around and cook as I stirred it all up… learning as I go.)
  • Turn the heat down to low and throw the lid on the pan/wok, stirring often, to let the pasta soak up the veggie flavors.

The veggies, except for the spinach.

Verdict: Total family dinner win. The girls (now freshly 9 and 10 years old) both asked for seconds… wish I had a bigger wok, so I could have made more. As per usual, I grade recipes while considering whether a monkey (like myself) can handle it, and clearly, this is possible. When we do it again, I’ll add the ingredients to the wok in the correct order. And make more. Success!

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, On the Stove and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

