The Handiest Apple Gadget Around

Getting ready to slice, but not peel.

In our house, we love apples. We love dehydrated apples, applesauce, just plain apples (and I love ’em with peanut butter, as a mid-afternoon snack). But the biggest pain about apples is the peeling and slicing, especially when you’re working with a bunch of ’em.

Enter the peeler/slicer/corer. We bought ours for $20 at Shafer’s Ace in Eureka. They have another one for $27 that has a suction cup instead of a clamp, but I prefer the clamp (just my own preference, plus reviews I’ve read online and heard from friends).

The gadget basically has two settings: Slice/core only (see above) and peel/slice/core. Why wouldn’t you want to peel? I prefer to leave the peels on when I dehydrate apples… the advantage is more fiber and vitamins.

Cored and sliced! Ready for the dehydrator.

The gadget is relatively cheap, completely kinetic (human power win!) and pretty simple to operate. As a general rule, aim for the apples that are straight, as the peeler and slicer can get a little wonky if the core is crooked. That aside, I figure it’s easy enough to cut the core pieces off of the sliced apple, when things go a little awry.

Peeled and sliced. Ready for applesauce.

The cores and peels are perfect chicken snacks or fodder for your compost pile. They might also be well used in a juicer… I’ll let y’all know when we get our hands on one.

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking, Crock Pot, In the Oven, On the Stove, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

