St. Patrick’s Preparation Green Smoothie

Look at the color of that smoothie! I mean really look at it. Do you know how it got to be that color? It wasn’t food coloring, and it sure isn’t from no kiwis or grapes. That beautiful shade of creamy green surprised me yesterday when I intended to make a simple sweet afternoon smoothie with bananas, peaches, cinnamon, soy milk, almond butter, and vanilla extract. I was going for the sweet tooth effect and thought, damn, I should probably put something green in there. I grabbed a handfull of kale and bam! After blending, everything was green. How fitting, being the month of March and St. Patrick’s Day being right around the corner.

This morning I made this beautiful smoothie for the pregnant lady in our house, who I knew would go wild for it, including Peanut. This time I added crushed mint and at this very moment I am naming it the Irish Mint Cream Smoothie. When I perfect the recipe, I’ll post it. For now we’re basking in smoothie heaven that looks and feels like mint chocolate chip, but isn’t, and is way healthier.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St. Patrick’s Preparation Green Smoothie

  1. Brandi Coogan says:

    One of my favorite home made smoothies consists of, organic peaches,organic spinach, bananas, GOOD peanut butter, small amount of honey, greek yogurt, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and aloe juice! It is really yummy and satisfying 😉

  2. Brandi Coogan says:

    I buy it from Eureka Natural Foods. There are different flavors, or you can purchase the original. It has small pieces of aloe in it, which, in my opinion is kind of the same texture as Lychee fruit. And the ‘juice’ itself, is silky and cool, mildly sweet. I have been able to get quite a few of my ‘not so into health food’ friends to give it a try, and so far… they ALL like it! My favorite is the one with mango and mangosteen fruit – yummy!

Leave a Reply

