AtV Green Orange Julius

My friend Sarahfae is Addicted to Veggies — that is to say she is a raw food magician. My interest in raw foods is minimal, but when she comes up with a recipe that resembles something I love the “real” version of, my attention is hers.

A few days ago, we had a mutual friend that was home with a sick kid, and the friend was enjoying making healthy smoothies for her little lady. Sarahfae mentioned that she had a recipe for a smoothie that, with the exception of the color, was just like an Orange Julius (like an orange creamsicle, basically). Consider my attention hers.

I attacked the recipe tonight. Rather, I started it last night, but had to soak my cashews for the Raw Vegan Sour Cream overnight, before I could make one of AtV’s staple ingredients. Then it was onto her Green Orange Creamsicle Smoothie.

This recipe is all Sarahfae’s. That I can make it, though, tells you that even a monkey could do this.

Ingredients (for 7 cups):

  • 2 c packed Spinach leaves
  • 4 large Navel Oranges, peeled and chopped //or// 4 cups chopped Oranges
  • 1 Tsp Orange zest
  • 9 Medjool Dates soaked in warm water for 10 minutes, pits removed
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 c Ice cubes
  • 1 c AtV Sour Cream
  • 2 c Water

Directions: Dump into blender. Blend for 30 seconds or until all ingredients are pureed.

Verdict: I’m shocked. I still can’t believe that a cup of spinach leaves and a pile of cashews, mixed with sliced up oranges and a bit of vanilla extract could seriously taste like an Orange Julius. Since my large hand-me-down blender has a somewhat smaller capacity (and just loves to leak its contents out of its bottom gasket), I went with a half-batch, and after initially blending everything together, I poured the contents into to Magic Bullet cups and gave both a whirl on there, further breaking down the spinach pieces.

I put both cups in the freezer (would that make them orange creamsiclecicles?) overnight and will take mine to work with me in the morning. Healthy, delicious, protein from greens and cashews, and relatively easy to make, once you have a batch of AtV sour cream at the ready.

This recipe will definitely be repeated.

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AtV Green Orange Julius

  1. Ross Rowley says:

    Found your new home on the interwebs by visiting Kristabel’s blog. Boy, these past years have been ever-changing, that’s for sure. Funny, but since becoming a “father” again…well, to foreign exchange students in Fortuna, I have just learned how to cook at age 51. My girlfriend/companion/partner/mainsqueeze is a former apartment-dwelling New Yorker who found herself in Fortuna, Ca. of all places. She never learned to cook. Never had to in a city like New York. Out of survival, I took up the duty. Having a big-eating 17-year old Chilean male teenager will make you learn how to cook fast.

    I’m counting the days to Peanut’s arrival. It’s great to follow you guys at this juncture in your lives.

    By the way, our new blog is here:

    http://abuvethefold.blogspot.com/

    Ross Rowley & Erin Dunn

    • rokchike says:

      Nice to see you, Ross! Glad you found us over here. New adventures and never-ending change — that’s what it’s all about!

      I didn’t know y’all were hosting foreign exchange students. That’s awesome! I’m merely hosting a fetus, but let me just tell you how much that little creature makes me eat… and how often. Sheeez.

      Can’t wait to introduce Peanut to the world, when the time is right and the bun is fully cooked. Yay!

Leave a Reply

