My Mama’s Granola Recipe

image

This recipe is based on the Blair House Granola recipe, with some minor modifications.

Ingredients (5 cups):

  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup honey (can’t wait ’til farmer’s market for local honey!)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole almonds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup dried coconut
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Directions: 

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • On the stove, heat oil, honey, brown sugar; add vanilla and salt.
  • Mix remaining ingredients and pour oil mixture over.
  • Mix with hands until evenly mixed.
  • Spread over a large baking sheet and bake at 325 for about 15 minutes (stirring often).
  • When golden brown, remove and cool completely before storing.

Modifications:

  • My mom made the 50/50 oil/honey modification and I liked it, so that’s what’s in the ingredients.
  • My mom also likes to use all one type of nut (ex: almonds) rather than a combination.
  • She suggests swapping out dried cranberries (craisins) for raisins.
  • What I did: Winco was out of pumpkin seeds, so I used roasted, salted peanuts, instead. I also used craisins instead of raisins and doubled the measurement (no such thing as too much fruit). I also added a bit of cinnamon in the original heated oil mixture, which the original recipe didn’t call for.
  • Also, because my roasting pan is relatively small, I let the granola stay in the oven an extra couple of minutes, stirring a lot toward the end, to make sure it was all adequately cooked.

Side note for shopping on a budget: Winco has almost all of the ingredients for this recipe in their bulk section. Yay! Had I just stuck with the few things I needed, but didn’t already have as staples in the house, I could have gotten out of there for next to nothing.

Verdict: Holy cow is that good! And so easy! Glad I added the touch of cinnamon. I just added some soy milk for a late night snack and it’s delicious. I foresee the 5 cups disappearing rather rapidly between breakfasts and school/work snacks over the next couple of days.

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking, Family, In the Oven, Money Money Money Money, On the Stove and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mama’s Granola Recipe

  1. beachcomber says:

    Not MINE but the recipe I use. You dad mixes it with Corn Flakes or Grape Nut flakes so it stretches. My favorite take-to-work breakfast is cubed apples, a couple plops of Greek yogurt and granola. I take them in separate containers so the granola stays crisp. Very yummy mid-morning.

  2. Gloria says:

    Yay Winco Bulk section!

  3. sibee says:

    I’ve had a lot of success with the Olive Oil Granola recipe that was on the New York Times website (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/15/dining/151arex.html). Super easy, tastes AWESOME, and you get all the healthy benefits of olive oil.*

    -Corin

    *At least, that’s what I tell myself when I’m eating gargantuan handfuls of it.

Leave a Reply

