Applesauce

imageThe first time I made applesauce, I tried it for two reasons:

  1. We bought so much darned fruit at Costco that I didn’t know what to do with it all, and
  2. A friend had suggested applesauce (or any fruit sauce) as a healthy replacement for eggs in a cookie recipe.

After some digging, I found the simplest recipe, ever (though if you have a simpler one, by all means, share in the comments section!) at AllRecipes.com.

I made a couple of adjustments for my family’s taste, but here’s the recipe as we make it:

Ingredients (Serves 4)

  • 4 apples – peeled, cored and chopped (I like to mix a couple red and a couple green apples)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/8 cup white sugar (this is half the amount of the original recipe)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (we double it from the original recipe)

Directions

  1. In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar, and cinnamon. Cover, and cook over medium heat for 15 to 20 minutes, or until apples are soft. Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or potato masher.

See? Easy enough for a monkey to handle. And in this, the 5th month of my pregnancy, when I want to do nothing but snack and snack and snack, this is a great thing to keep in the fridge at work. Minimal guilt, maximum pleasure.

Note to self: Share info about our awesome corer/peeler/slicer… hello Best Kitchen Gadget in our arsenal!

**Song in my head as I write this: Adele “Someone Like You,” from her incredible album, “21.”**

About rokchike

I'm Monica Topping and my partner is Gabe Pressure. I'm a huge fan of music, and I work as a DJ on 94.1 KSLG-FM. Interviewing bands and taking photos make me happy. I'm a step-mom to two young ladies and we've got Peanut on the way, due in late June. We also own a business, Music Lives On, which includes my jewelry (Rock Chick Designs) and his clothing (Pressure Drop Apparel) lines. I'm shameless.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, On the Stove and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Applesauce

  1. Pat Bitton says:

    Here’s what I do. Every time I have an apple, I put the core in an airtight container in the fridge. At the end of a week (or whenever the container is full), I chop up the cores and run them through the juicer. The resulting juice I mix in with my regular Co-op apple juice. The pulverized bits (and there are a lot of those) go in a saucepan over low heat with a cinnamon stick and some cloves. Once it’s warmed through and smelling yummy, I take out the cinnamon stick and pulverize everything else with an immersion blender. Current apples (Pink Ladies) don’t need any added sugar.

    • rokchike says:

      Sounds great, Pat!

      The nutritionist I’ve been seeing during my pregnancy said that folks who use juicers would be better off eating the pulp than drinking the juice and throwing away the pulp, but you’re using all of it! Kudos for no waste and all the nutrients.

Leave a Reply

